Author, Blog, Sports, Writing, Young Adult

The little things

Feeling better today.

Or at least less irritated.

After having my set back the last couple days I decided to go out with my fiance for a little surprise dinner. She didn’t know where we were going, this allowed me to have some fun with her as she tried to figure it out. She never came close.

We went to Dave & Buster’s.

For those of you that don’t know (I’m not sure if countries outside of the U.S. have Dave & Buster’s). Dave & Buster’s is a restaurant that has an arcade attached to it. You can eat dinner and play games, at the exact same time. My fiance was ecstatic once she saw the sign.

What followed was the greatest three hours I’ve had this week and this month so far.

The food was delicious, I enjoyed some ribs and mini – burgers but what really set everything apart was a multitude of things. Our server was beyond amazing. Easy to talk to while engaging, he cared about how we were doing and had multiple conversations where we were able to laugh and smile. This is a complete stranger and I felt like I was a guest in a friends home. This was the best dining experience I’d ever had.

What really capped off the night was getting to spend time with my fiance and just talk. She’s one of the few people that I’m completely comfortable talking to, she allowed me to vent and talk about my story and the transition it’s gone through from start to where it currently stands. She listens and, as an avid reader herself, provides advice based on the thousands of books she had read.

We spent our last two hours playing games in the arcade. It was a great experience playing a variety of games with and against my fiance.

It was the first night in a long time where I didn’t worry about what was going.

For three hours I found peace.

I’ve always tried to appreciate the little things that happen in life. Laughing at a joke, having a good conversation with a strange, spending time with someone important.

Last night was the most it’s ever meant to me.

Leave a Reply

